A new proposed bill could add another marginal traffic violation to Virginia’s reckless driving laws, already the toughest in the nation. According to The Newspaper, HB1993 would criminalize not coming to a complete stop before taking a right turn at at red light.
Virginia drivers already face a Class 1 misdemeanor reckless driving offense for driving 80mph, which is in some cases only 10mph over the posted speed limit.
Criminalizing a rolling stop is another indignation to our besieged motorists.
The reckless driving laws already more than cover this situation if it result in an actual accident, or near miss, and creates a serious danger or risk of injury.
But presenting someone with a criminal citation for drifting through a red light making a right turn, if no one is around is an extreme overreaction.
If enacted, this offense could result in fines of $2500, a six month license suspension, 6 points on your driver’s license, and even jail time. And there are absolutely judges in Virginia courts who will hand out jail time for reckless convictions.
More on reckless driving.