© 2013 Get Lawyer Leads, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Marijuana Drug Possession Charge in Virginia?
Protect your Rights and Freedom to Drive!
You can lose your license with a conviction for simple marijuana possession. So it is critical to get started right away to preserve all options in your defense. All drug possession charges in Virginia can be serious – even a simple pot possession charge. Talking to an experienced lawyer right away can help you avoid the most severe penalties.
Marijuana Possession Penalties
Simple possession of marijuana is a misdemeanor (unclassified), with a maximum penalty or 30 days in jail, and a $500 fine for a first offense.
For a second (2nd) offense, the maximum penalty increases to 12 months in jail. It is a Class 1 misdemeanor.
As with any drug charge, conviction, or plea, you are at risk of having your license suspended if you are found guilty.
Marijuana is classified as a Schedule I drug under federal guidelines, which means it has a “high potential for abuse” and “no legitimate medical use”. But it is in a unique class among schedule 1 drugs and has it’s own penalty structure under Virginia Law. (Ref: § 18.2-250.1. Possession of marijuana, unlawful)
Can I Beat a Marijuana Possession Case?
Yes, in many cases you can. There are a number of ways to challenge and beat a marijuana possession charge. Typically, I may file a motion to suppress if I can argue illegal search and seizure. I can also challenge the prosecution to prove the drugs were legitimately in your control or on your property or person.
Even if the facts are sufficient to find you guilty, I can help negotiate down sentencing and make the process as painless as possible for you.
I’ve defended hundreds of similar cases, and I’ve been able to save my clients from severe penalties countless times. Don’t give up hope, even if you think you are guilty. Give me a call – I’ll listen to your case, review the evidence, and let you know what I would do to fight it, and what I think your chances are.
Virginia Marijuana Distribution Charge?
See my intent to distribute page.
Free Consultation on a Marijuana Possession Charge in Virginia
If you are facing a marijuana/pot or other drug charge in Virginia, you will benefit by speaking to an experienced criminal defense attorney right away. Call me now to schedule your no-obligation, no-risk, free consultation at (877) 439-2999. I’ll talk to you about your case, let you know what you are facing, and let you know exactly what I can do to help.
The Attorneys of VaCriminalDefenseLawyer.com
Related Law References:
§ 18.2-255.1. Distribution, sale or display of printed material advertising instruments for use in administering marijuana or controlled substances to minors; penalty – Marijuana magazines/advertisement – Class 1 Misdemeanor