Charged with a Robbery Offense? Protect your Legal Rights in Court!
Robbery is a serious violent crime. When you are arrested on suspicion of robbery, you can expect to be treated as a violent suspect, simply because of the nature of the crime. In other words, people will judge you long before you have your day in court. It’s when you are up against charges like this that a local defense attorney can be a true asset.
Your attorney is your one advocate within the legal system. They are there to help work towards the best results possible on your case, potentially helping you to avoid the direst penalties.
Virginia Robbbery Laws and Penalties
The laws of Virginia separate robbery into several different categories. The charge you face will depend on the facts of your case and the evidence that the prosecutor has against you. While this page is designed to give you an overview of the laws and penalties, discussing your case with an attorney is the best way to know for certain what you are up against.
In general, robbery is defined as the taking or attempted taking of the property of another, from their person, with force or the threat of force.
First Degree Robbery
Robbery in the first degree is defined as committing robbery where you use
- Violence against the other person, or
- The threat of deadly force by presenting a firearm or other deadly weapon.
If you are convicted of this offense, you will face no less than 10 years in prisonand up to a life sentence.
Second Degree Robbery
If you commit or attempt to commit robbery by putting the alleged victim in fear of bodily injury, not amounting to first degree robbery, or if you use any means such as a drug or electronic shock device, to temporarily disable the victim, you could be charged and convicted of this offense.
Second degree robbery carries a sentence of no less than 5 years and up to 18 years in prison.
The robbery of a car is considered carjacking. If you are found guilty of carjacking, you will face 15 years to life in prison.
If you are convicted of any robbery offense, you will face a mandatory minimum sentence of 3 years. This means, regardless of your sentence you will serve at least 3 years of it with no chance of probation or parole. If this isn’t your first conviction, that mandatory minimum sentence could be increased to 5 years.
Whatever robbery charge you are facing, the stakes are high. Contact our offices today to see how we might be able to help.
Call (877) 439-2999 or contact us via the web form, and we will be happy to speak with you about your case.