FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
Manassas, VA – 7/2/07
Virginia Criminal Defense Attorney Says New Abusive Driver Law Unfair to Virginians
Virginia’s new law adding “abusive driver” fees to many serious traffic offenses is a burdensome penalty enhancement to what are already some of the toughest traffic laws in the nation. But what makes them grossly unfair is that they only apply to Virginia residents, and not to drivers who are licensed and registered in other states.
The new law, passed as part of a comprehensive transportation bill earlier this year, adds “abusive driver” fees to charges including reckless driving, driving on a suspended license, driving under the influence, and other criminal misdemeanor traffic offenses. But since the collection mechanism is based on registration renewals, the new fees will affect only Virginia residents if they are convicted of these offenses.
“Virginia already has one of the strictest laws on reckless driving in particular,” says Attorney, a Manassas criminal defense lawyer. “We charge and convict people with a Class 1 misdemeanor for merely driving 20 miles per hour over the speed limit.” “In almost every other state, a person gets a speeding ticket, but we give them a criminal record for the rest of their lives. And now, we are piling on punitive fines of more than $1000 in addition.”
According to the attorney, “It’s clear to me that this is a grossly unfair excuse to generate extra revenue for the Commonwealth, on the backs of people with no public support or political constituency – mostly poor Virginians facing traffic violations.” He adds, “In the interest of fairness, this law should be repealed or substantially scaled back.”
We are criminal defense attorney in Virginia who’s represented hundreds of people charged with reckless driving, DUI, and other criminal charges in Virginia. Our web site is http://www.vacriminaldefenselawyer.com
Further Reference – DMV page on new fees