Protect your Legal Rights in Court!
When you are facing burglary charges in the state of Virginia, you are up against stiff penalties and severe consequences if you are convicted. The stakes are high. During this difficult period, you need someone on your side who is interested in getting you the best results possible on your case, a local defense attorney who is prepared to help ensure your rights are protected throughout the criminal justice process.
Virginia Burglary Laws and Penalties
Burglary laws can seem complex and confusing. In Virginia, there are several different crimes that can be considered burglary offenses. The facts of your case along with the evidence that the prosecutor has against you will determine which charge you ultimately face.
Under Virginia law, burglary is defined as “breaking and entering the house of another at night with the intent to commit a felony or larceny within.”
If you were armed at the time, you will be charged with a Class 2 felony, and face a prison sentence of 20 years to life, and fines reaching $100,000. If you were not armed, you will be charged with a Class 3 felony, carrying 5 to 20 years in prison.
Entering a Dwelling with Intent to Commit Murder, Rape, Robbery or Arson
If you are accused of entering a dwelling at night without breaking, or in the daytime with breaking, or if you are accused of concealing yourself in such a building, and you do so with the intent to commit murder, rape, robbery or arson, you could face this charge.
This offense is classified as a Class 3 felony, carrying 5 to 20 years. If you are armed, it will be charged as a Class 2 felony, however, carrying 20 years to life.
Entering a Dwelling with Intent to Commit Larceny, Assault and Battery, or other Felony
If you are accused of entering a dwelling at night without breaking, or in the daytime with breaking, or if you are accused of concealing yourself in such a building, and you do so with the intent to commit larceny, assault and battery, or another felony, you could be charged with statutory burglary, carrying a potential 1 to 20 years in prison. If you are armed at the time, the charge will be elevated to a Class 2 Felony, carrying 20 years to life in prison.
All burglary charges are considered felonies, and along with prison time, each carries the potential for hefty fines and the lifelong designation as a convicted felon in Virginia.
When you are up against charges like these, you need an advocate, someone in your corner when it feels like your back is against the wall. Contact our attorneys today to discuss the details of your case and how we might be able to help.
Call (888) 205-9314 or contact us via the web form, and we will be happy to speak with you about your case.