Don’t Plead Guilty To a Reckless Driving Charge
(Also see our Reckless Driving FAQ page.)
“I can’t believe I’ve been Hit with a Criminal Charge!?!”
That’s the first thing most people say when they call. “I was pulled over for speeding, and the officer cited me with a criminal summons for reckless driving. What should I do?”
Unfortunately, it’s true. Reckless driving is a surprisingly serious charge with harsh penalties in Virginia. It is very easy to be charged with reckless driving, simply by traveling more than 20 mph over the speed limit! You though you were merely pulled over for a speeding ticket, but you are suddenly facing a serious criminal charge with the same penalties as a DUI.
In some courts, including Fairfax county, judges are very strict about these cases and are perfectly willing to sentence you to jail time! In other courts, judges recognize that the law is extremely harsh, and are willing to drop the charges to a civil charge or speeding ticket.
If You Haven’t Plead Guilty, There is Still Time
But the good news is that you can still do something to fix it. In most cases, we can get the charge reduced down to improper driving or a simple speeding ticket, frequently without you needing to go to court. Call to discuss how we can save you money in fines, fees, increased insurance rates, and keep a criminal charge off your record.
How can you tell if you are risking jail time or you have a good chance to get the charges substantially reduced? On your own, you probably won’t be able to tell. You’ll need to talk to an attorney experienced with reckless driving charges to analyze the specific facts in your case, and which jurisdiction your case will be heard in. Contact us for a free consultation at (877) 439-2999 and we can help.
The Court Says I Can Just Pay the Reckless Driving Ticket? What Happens Then?
The act of paying mailing in the ticket, and paying the fines is the same as pleading guilty to a criminal charge.
Sometimes, they don’t even tell you this, but it is true.
And the courts are happy to let you do this, but it is a big mistake. If you live far away from the court or out of state, have to work, or whatever the reasons, maybe it seems simpler. Until months or years from now, you apply for a job, and are rejected because of criminal record.
But it doesn’t have to happen. In many cases, we can get your criminal reckless charge reduced to a civil penalty, and keep your record clean, without you ever having to step foot in court, or take a day out of your life. We can take care of the entire transaction by phone, mail, email, and fax.
This makes all the sense in the world if you are a tourist or just passing through the state, and get cited for this violation.
Often you will pay less, including legal fees for hiring a lawyer to get these charges and fees reduced. Not to mention that if we get the reckless charge removed you won’t have a criminal record, and you won’t have to show up it court. You will save money on fines, insurance rates, the whole deal.
Call for a consultation and we’ll discuss how all this works, and how you’ll benefit from this simple, yet critical legal defense transaction. (877) 439-2999
VA Reckless Driving Penalties
A Reckless Driving charge is considered a Class 1 Misdemeanor under Virginia law.
- You are facing the possibility of up to one year in jail, a 6 month license suspension, and fines that could cost you up to $2500.
- You’ll also be charged 6 demerit points by the Virginia DMV, which will affect your insurance rates and can lead to a license suspension if you have other past traffic violations.
Our attorneys have handled hundreds of these cases, and are ready to successfully defend yours.
Don’t take a reckless driving charge lightly. Take advantage of a free legal consultation, to find out the risks you face if you agree to plead guilty without being represented by an experience lawyer.
How to Beat a Reckless Driving Ticket in Virginia
We can beat many reckless driving charges, or negotiate down to a simple civil speeding ticket in many cases.
One legal challenge experienced defense attorneys use is to contest the calibration of the radar or laser device on which you were clocked. The police must have records of the machines being calibrated within the last six months.
Getting the judge to agree to reducing the charges is an option in many cases if the speed you were clocked at is under 80 mph. Many judges and and courts will agree to this, and I can help you negotiate the system to give you the best chance at a reduction down from a criminal misdemeanor.
There are other defenses, depending on the facts of you specific situation. Call for free consultation and tell us about your reckless driving ticket/arrest, and I’ll tell you what I can do to help you, or contact me via email. There’s no obligation.
For more information about reckless driving and license suspension issues and risks, please refer to the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles license suspension and revocation reinstatement page.
If you are accused of reckless driving or other traffic offenses in Virginia, call now for a no-obligation, no-risk, free consultation at (877) 439-2999. Find out exactly what can happen to you in your case, and what a Virginia criminal traffic attorney can do to help.
The attorneys of VaCriminalDefenseLawyer.com
Contact us about your Reckless Driving charges.